Top PMI-ACP Exam Prep Tools

Cracked PMP in the first attempt

edited March 2012 in PM Certifications

I am very excited and happy to share that I have cracked the PMP exam in the first attempt on 27 March 2012. It was my rigorous study plan for 45 days which helped me to pass the exam. After going through the PMBOK Guide (4th Edn.) for the first time, it was very hard to grasp all contents in one go. Then I started again with Head First PMP (2nd Edn.) which is a good book in simple language explaining every chapter with a case study which ultimately settled many concepts in my mind.
Then I studied Rita Mulcahy (6th Edn.) for the famous Rita's chart and many other important concepts for the exam.
I mostly relied on understanding the concepts rather than attempting questions and answers. In the last 10 days of the exam I have attempted around 1000 questions and only 2 times in the real exam mode.

I would like to advise those who are looking forward for the PMP credential, please don't ONLY attempt the mock CBT's and the exercise instead go for the concepts. If you are working in the capacity of a project manager then these concepts are easy to grasp.

In the last 3-4 days Deep Fried Brain PMP has helped me alot in gaining much clarity in some of the most essential concepts. The actual exam for me was very tough and there were too many trapping questions. But I went for the answers based on the concepts learned so far.

I am looking forward to gain more practical knowledge through PM Hangout and would like to contribute my knowledge through this forum.

I sincerely hope that Harwinder should write a book for the PMP aspirants.

-Amit Ranjan, PMP®

Comments

• edited March 2012

Great job, Amit. Congratulations!

45 days is a really good time to pass the exam. You have a somewhat unique approach in that you didn't attempt too many sample questions. I have a few questions for you:

• Which course/program did you use to earn your 35 contact hours?