Top PMI-ACP Exam Prep Tools

When are OPAs and EEFs an Input and when not ....

edited March 2012 in PM Certifications

I'm studying for CAPM. One thing I'm noticing - many of my errors on prep exams relate to knowing when Organisational Process Assets or Environmental Enterprise Assets are an Input to process activities. For example, why does PMBOK think there is no need for OPA's during Collect Requirements but does during Define Activities. Surely the old reliable "lessons learned" applies to both. Or why are EEFs such as "a scheduling tool" an Input to Develop Schedule and nothing comparable is needed to Determine Budget. I'd argue that there are usually good grounds for including both. Either way, for all my efforts I can't find a rhyme or reason for inclusion or exclusion and end up guessing. And before anyone says it: I don't fancy learning them off by heart.

Is there a general rule of thumb or guidance anyone can refer me to ? Sean.
__

Tagged:

Comments

• Accepted Answer

Sean,

Excellent question.

This is going to challenge even the experts :) There are at least 6 PMP credential holder members on this forum as of now. Let's see who gives the best answer.

BTW, when is your exam?

• Accepted Answer

Sean,

I quote from the PMBOK Guide, 4th edition, Chapter 3, Page 37:

These (Organizational Process Assets and Enterprise Environmental Factors) must be taken into account for every process, even if they are not explicitly listed as inputs in the process specification. Organizational process assets provide guidelines and criteria for tailoring the organization’s processes to the specific needs of the project. Enterprise environmental factors may constrain the project management options.